Speaking at 300 Seconds

I decided a couple of weeks ago, that I would start talking publicly about the work I do in data visualisation. It’s cool right now, it’s fun and engaging. It’s also a chance to give back to a community that is very open and supportive of those coming up and developing new skills such as D3.

The very next day, I saw the following in my Twitter feed:

I did, so I got in touch, and last night I spoke at the Open Data Institute. You can see my slides here. The video will be up shortly.

Credit: Chris Kammerud

Credit: Chris Kammerud

The people at 300 Seconds are doing an awesome job at my favourite thing ever: see something broken–do something to fix it. They saw there weren’t enough women speaking at tech events, so they started an event to get people started in their speaking careers. There were a raft of fascinating and lively talks which I’ll link to when the info goes up. I had a ball. Congratulations Lily, and Mils, and Ann and the others. You are doing amazing work.

